All Polish collector coins feature:

- face value
- image of the Eagle established as the state emblem of the Republic of Poland
- inscription: Rzeczpospolita Polska
- year of issue



Issuing collector items is an occasion to commemorate important historic figures and anniversaries, as well as to develop the interest of the public in Polish culture, science and tradition.

Information on the issue schedule can be found at the www.nbp.pl/monety website.

Should you have any questions, please contact our consultants at the following phone numbers: +48 22 185 91 59 and +48 22 185 13 03.

Collector coins issued by NBP are sold at NBP regional branches and in the NBP online shop.

On 26 October 2021, Narodowy Bank Polski will be putting into circulation silver coins of the series "The Great Polish Economists" – Edward Taylor and Tadeusz Brzeski, each with a face value of 10 złoty.

Narodowy Bank Polski is the central bank of the State, responsible for its monetary policy and price stability. The Bank's functions are described in the Constitution of the Republic of Poland and the Act on NBP. NBP holds the exclusive right to issue the currency of the Republic of Poland. As the central bank, it does not provide accounts for the general public, accept deposits from or extend loans to individuals. It acts as a banker to the State budget and public sector entities. NBP also holds and manages the foreign exchange reserves of the State. Finally, it functions as a banker to banks, creating conditions for the operation of the Polish banking system. Narodowy Bank Polski is one of the most important research and analytical centres in the fields of economics and financial markets. For more information on NBP visit: www.nbp.pl

Narodowy Bank Polski

We protect the value of Polish money



## 30<sup>th</sup> Anniversary of the First Free Parliamentary Election



**Collector coins** 

DEW WW 30-lat-wybory A4-2021-PK-v1.0.indd 3 01.10.2021 14:45

## 30th Anniversary of the First Free Parliamentary Election

On 21 October 2021, Narodowy Bank Polski is putting into circulation a silver coin "30th **Anniversary of the First Free Parliamentary** Election", with a face value of 10 złoty.

Poland was the last Central European country to hold a free parliamentary election after the fall of communist governments. This was due to the evolutionary nature of the changes in the political system initiated by the Round Table talks and then to the policy pursued by the government headed by Tadeusz Mazowiecki, who decided to hold democratic local government elections in the first place (May 1990). And later, the elite of the "Solidarity" movement, embroiled in an increasingly fierce political dispute, decided to call a general presidential election. Its winner, Lech Wałęsa, engaged in a months-long dispute with the majority of the Contract Sejm over the structure of the electoral law. It all led to the free parliamentary election taking place as late as 27 October 1991.

Voter turnout at the election was only 43.2%, which was due to the discontent among many Polish citizens with the direction of the political and economic changes launched in 1989. Since the proportional representation electoral system did not provide for an electoral threshold, the seats in the Seim were divided amongst representatives of as many as 24 parties. Most of the seats (barely 62) were gained by the Democratic Union (Unia Demokratyczna). The degree of political fragmentation at the election is also well illustrated by the fact



The portrait of Jan Olszewski was designed based on the photographs by Maciej Chojnowski.

that 14 parties won fewer than 10 seats, with 7 of the parties gaining just 1 seat each.

The leader of the Christian National Union (Zjednoczenie Chrześcijańsko-Narodowe) Prof. Wiesław Chrzanowski was elected Speaker of the Seim. In December 1991, the Seim of the first term appointed a government headed by Jan Olszewski. After its fall - accelerated by the lustration crisis (4 June 1992) and followed by Waldemar Pawlak's unsuccessful mission to form a cabinet – the government of Hanna Suchocka was formed in July 1992. The vote of no confidence in the latter, taken in May 1993, prompted President Wałesa to dissolve the parliament and call an early election. The most significant achievement of the Sejm of the first term was the adoption of

Face value: 10 zł Metal: Ag 999/1000 Finish: proof

Diameter: 32.00 mm Weight: 31.10 g

Edge (side): plain

Mintage: up to 12,000 pcs

Designer: Dominika Karpińska-Kopiec

Issuer: NBP

The coins, commissioned by NBP, were struck by Mennica Polska S.A.

the so-called Small Constitution, which was ratified on 17 October 1992.

The obverse of the coin carries a portrait of Jan Olszewski, Prime Minister in the years 1991–1992, a fragment of the seating chart for the Sejm meeting hall, and a stylised ballot box.

The reverse features a fragment of the complex of the Sejm buildings, with a centrally placed building that houses the Sejm meeting halls, and a fragment of the Senate building. In the foreground, a stylised fragment of a ballot paper featuring the eagle of the National Electoral Commission is placed.

Antoni Dudek

DEW\_WW\_30-lat-wybory\_A4-2021-PK-v1.0.indd 4 01.10.2021 14:45